Biomedical Nano-Engineering Laboratory

The Wilhelm Lab is affiliated with the Stephenson School of Biomedical Engineering (SBME) at the University of Oklahoma (OU).

OU stephenson-biomedical-engineering




Our lab space is in Gallogly Hall at the OU Norman Campus.

Our research interests include the engineering and designing of nanomaterials for use in biomedical applications and clinical translation.



Dissertation Excellence Award

October 2023 – PhD candidate, Vinit Sheth, received the Gallogly College of Engineering Dissertation Excellence Award. Congratulations!

NIH R35 MIRA Award

July 2023 – The Wilhelm Lab received an NIH R35 MIRA award “A novel framework for nanomedicine development”. Thank you to the entire lab team, mentors, collaborators, friends, and colleagues who helped along the way.

Ph.D. Defense – Alex Frickenstein

July 2023 – Alex Frickenstein defended his Ph.D. thesis titled “Improving quantification of nanoscale interactions by engineering monodisperse gold nanoparticles”. Congratulations, Dr. Frickenstein! Thank you to the Ph.D. committee members, Drs. Handan Acar, John Clegg, and Rakhi Rajan.

Publication in Trends in Analytical Chemistry

July 2023 – Majood Haddad and Alex Frickenstein published a review article in the journal Trends in Analytical Chemistry.

M. Haddad, A. N. Frickenstein, S. Wilhelm, “High-throughput single-cell analysis of nanoparticle-cell interactions”
Trends in Analytical Chemistry, 2023, 166, 117172. 

DOI: 10.1016/j.trac.2023.11717  | PDF (4.6 MB)


Dissertation Excellence Award

July 2023 – PhD candidate, Alex Frickenstein, received the Gallogly College of Engineering Dissertation Excellence Award. Congratulations!

Tenure and Promotion

July 2023 – Stefan received tenure and promotion to Associate Professor. Thank you to everyone who contributed!

Hamilton Young received Astronaut Scholarship Award

May 2023 – Undergraduate researcher, Hamilton Young, received the prestigious 2023 Astronaut Scholarship Award.

BE4NANO Summer Research Camp 2023

May 2023 – High school students from the Caddo-Kiowa Technology Center in Fort Cobb participated in a week-long summer research camp.


Publication in ACS Nano

May 2023 – Alex Frickenstein published a co-author original research article in the journal ACS Nano. The study was led by Prof. Priyabrata Mukherjee (OUHSC).

K. Elechalawar, G. Rao, S. K. Gulla, M. M. Patel, A. Frickenstein, N. Means, R. V. Roy, L. Tsiokas, S. Asfa, P. Panja, C. Rao, S. Wilhelm, R. Bhattacharya, P. Mukherjee, “Gold nanoparticles inhibit macropinocytosis by decreasing KRAS activation”
ACS Nano, 2023, published online.
DOI: 10.1021/acsnano.3c00920  | PDF (11.3 MB)

BE4NANO Day @OUHSC – April 2023

April 2023 – Together with the Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement at the College of Medicine, we hosted high school students from the Caddo-Kiowa Technology Center for our BE4NANO Day at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC). Thank you all for your support!

Publication in ACS Nano

April 2023 – Vinit Sheth and the team published an original research article in the journal ACS Nano.

V. Sheth, X. Chen, E. M. Mettenbrink, W. Yang, M. A. Jones, O. M’Saad, A. G. Thomas, R. S. Newport, E. R. Francek, L. Wang, A. N. Frickenstein, N. D. Donahue, A. M. Holden, N. Mjema, D. E. Green, P. L. DeAngelis, J. Bewersdorf, S. Wilhelm, “Quantifying intracellular nanoparticle distributions with three-dimensional super-resolution microscopy”
ACS Nano, 2023, published online.
DOI: 10.1021/acsnano.2c12808 | PDF (3.4 MB)

Inaugural Wilhelm Lab Olympics

April 2023 – The winners of the inaugural Wilhelm Lab Olympics are: Lin, Thao, Zephan, Sarah, Majood, and Vinit, aka “Team Vinit”. Thank you to our lab’s party planning committee for organizing!

Wayne Steen Award – Tekena Harcourt

April 2023 – Tekena Harcourt received the Wayne Steen Award for his exceptional leadership as a Diversity & Inclusion Scholar. Congratulations, Tekena!!

SBME Awards AY 2022/2023

April 2023 – Four Wilhelm Lab students were recognized with OU SBME awards in AY 2022/2023:

  • Amberlynn Demko – Outstanding Sophomore
  • Emmy Francek & Majood Haddad – Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistants
  • Dr. Wen Yang – Outstanding PhD Graduate

Congratulations to all SBME award winners!


April 2023 – We participated in the 2023 National American Indian Science and Engineering Fair (NAISEF) in Stillwater at OK State University.

Go to Top